Hadn’t Met You Yet. Chapter 44

Michael sat at one of the chairs in front of the nurses station. He already knew Olivia had been taken to another room and that aside from her broken wrist, bruises and that gash on her temple, she was out of danger and expected to make a full recovery.

But he still hadn’t made himself go and see her.

“Well,” he muttered, “there’s no time like the present.”

Five minutes later, he was outside her room. The door was open. Just as he’d been turning the corner on the hallway, he’d caught Noah coming out from the room. It reminded him of where they still stood in their relationship.

He took a deep breath and stepped inside.

She was lying down, her head turned to stare at the small window on the wall. It was dark outside and the window glistened from the light rain that had began to fall and the city lights from the buildings around the hospital.

Olivia felt him even before she turned to lock her stare with his. She felt her heart shrink away from the pain she saw in them, the fear, but also the flicker of passion that was always there whenever he looked at her. It was a flicker that made her own body tremble and her heart beat hard against her chest.

“Michael.”

“Hey. I heard you are going to be just fine.”

“I am.”

“Camie wanted to come by, too, but Jerry took her home. The last thing you need now is Camie hovering all over you and breaking down into sobs.”

“She must be scared.”

Absentmindedly, Olivia lifted her good hand to brush her hair away from her face. She saw his body tense, and his eyes narrow at the stone which glinted thanks to the lights above them. Mortified, she tried to hide her hands under the covers but Olivia could already see the damage had been done. And the worst part of it all? Everything was crumbling down inside her, too.

“I see you’ve made a choice.”

“Michael, I wanted to tell you, today, I…..”

God, he felt cold inside. The place where his heart had beat so fiercely for her was hollow, a huge chunk of ice taking its place. So, in the end, he had lost her, for good.

“You have nothing to explain. I guess this means I am officially out.”

She started to speak but he rushed to her side and cupped her face.

“No, don’t. I made a promise and I am going to keep my end of it.”

The tears streamed silently down her pale cheeks. His kind eyes never wavered from hers, and all she could think off was of wrapping her arms around him and never letting go.

But she’d made her choice. Sadly, that didn’t make the hurt go away.

“I never meant to hurt you Michael.”

“I know.” He gave her a weak smile that didn’t reach his eyes.

“I want you to be very happy, you hear me?  And I can’t thank you enough for making sure this girl that means the world to me is safe and sound.”

She shook her head up and down, sobbing.

He leaned down, kissed her forehead and stood up.

Michael hesitated right before stepping out from the room. In a voice that wasn’t steady and that reflected the turmoil going on inside him, he added.

“I love you Olivia. I love you like I have never loved anyone in my life before.”

And just like that, he left the room and walked out of her life. She was still sobbing when Tracy came in a couple of minutes later.

“Hey, I just ran into Michael outside. Poor guy he looks really worried about you.” Tracy then saw Olivia was crying inconsolably and went to her side. She brought her arms around her and offered what best friends can in these type of situations. A shoulder to cry on and no questions. Only murmurs of comfort.

Olivia cried her whole heart out. She cried for Michael, for Emilia and for what might’ve been.

 

Leave a Reply

